Govt committed to tertiary education devt

Professor Naana Jane Opoku -Agyemang, swearing in members of the Council

Professor Naana Jane Opoku -Agyemang, swearing in members of the Council

The Minister of Education, Professor Naana Jane Opoku Agyemang, has sworn in a 17-member Governing Council of the University of Education, Winneba, (UEW) urging  them  to adopt  the right approaches and practical interventions aimed at achieving excellence in the university.

She said the National Teaching Council had developed a National Teaching Standards to ensure teachers were imbued with the needed professional skills, values and attitudes to give students good quality education.

Prof Agyemang, said these when she swore-in a 17-member Governing Council of the University of Education, Winneba, (UEW), here on Thursday.

The 6th reconstituted council with a two-year mandate, renewable for another term, has Professor Richard Tutee Awuah, a former principal of the Asante-Mampong Campus of the university as chairman.

It replaced the old council, chaired by Dr. Emmanuel Kenneth Andoh, also known as Nana Okofo Bondam II, Omanhene of Enyamaim Traditional Area, which was asked to hold the fort for almost three years after its term expired in 2013.

Members of the new council are Dr. Henrietta Rowena Asare, Dr. Pasmor Kuranchie, Prof Yaw Afari Ankomah, government nominees; Prof Mohammed Salifu , National Council for Tertiary Education (NCTE) and Prof Mawutor Avoke, Vice Chancellor.

Others are  Mr. Jacob  A. M Kor, Director General, Ghana Education Service(GES); Rt. Rev. Matthew  K. Gyamfi, Ghana Education Service Council; Mr. Alexander Mawusi  Buadi, Professional Teachers’ Organisation, and Mr. Samuel  Ofori Danquah, Graduate Students Association of Ghana (GRASAG).

The rest are Mr. Bruno Bajuaose Chirani, Dr. Samuel Bekoe, Prof Yaw Serekye Annor and  Dr. Stephen Jobson Mitchual, Convocation; Mr. Emmanuel Osei Sarpong, Alumni; Mr. Jarvis Kojo Koffie, Students Representative Council and Ms. Theresa Ackon, Teacher and Educational Workers Union.

They swore two oaths of office and the oath of secrecy.

Inaugurating the council, Prof. Agyemang said they were selected to serve on account of their proven integrity and sense of duty, and expressed the hope that they would bring these worthy attributes to bear in the discharge of their responsibility.

She charged the council to  ensure that the university trained  students  to acquire  the needed professional  and academic skills for teaching in tertiary, pre-tertiary  and  non-formal education institutions, and to build  the capabilities of teachers through  regular  and distance education.

Prof. Agyemang reminded them of their responsibilities in line with the university’s Act, which among others required them to implement the aims of the university, make arrangements for internal organisation such as academic division and also promote income generating activities.

She expressed hope that the council would continue the good work of its predecessors, by providing policy direction and support to assist the university management to secure resources to provide infrastructure and academic facilities.

The minister commended the UEW for complementing government’s efforts through the institution of scholarship for brilliant but needy students, and research and innovation funds, to improve research at the university.

Prof Agyemang commended the former council for holding the fort even after their tenure had expired.

Prof. Awuah on behalf of the members, expressed gratitude to President John Mahama for the confidence reposed in them, and assured the government that they would discharge their duties diligently and as a team.

From Jonathan Donkor, Winneba    

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment