Govt axes 8 CEOs …ordered to retire by March 2019

Eight Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of some government institutions have been directed to leave office by March 2019.


According to sources within government, the eight CEOs have passed the mandatory retirement age of 60.


They are Mr Eugene Ofosuhene, 67 years, Controller and Accountant General; Mr Maxwell Kofi Jumah, 68 years, CEO of Ghana Industrial Holding Corporation (GIHOC); and Mr Isaac Osei, 67 years, CEO of Tema Oil Refinery (TOR).


Others are Mr Kwame Owusu, 67 years, CEO of Ghana Maritime Authority and Mr Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie, 65 years, CEO of Forestry Commission and Dr Anthony Nsiah-Asare, 65 years, Director General of Ghana Health Service.


The rest are Dr Samuel Annor, 64 years, CEO of National Health Insurance Authority and Mr K. K Sarpong, 65 years, CEO of Ghana National Petroleum Corporation (GNPC).


The outgoing CEOs are expected to hand over to their deputies pending their permanent replacements, the source said.


The Public Service Act mandates public officers to retire from public service after attaining the age of 60 and gives the President the power to extend their mandate to about five years.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment