Give us competent minister… Farmer tell Pres-elect

Alhaji Limuna Mohammed Minuru, outgoing Minister of Food and Agriculture

Alhaji Limuna Mohammed Minuru, outgoing Minister of Food and Agriculture

The Ghana National Association of Farmers and Fishermen (GNAFF) has appealed to the President- elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, to appoint a personality, who has knowledge in agriculture and has the sector at heart as the Minister of Food and Agriculture.

Addressing a news conference in Accra yesterday to introduce the newly-elected officers of GNAFF, the national secretary of GNAFF, Lemuel Quarshie Martey, expressed concern about the decline in the agriculture sector, which currently accounted for 0.04 per cent of Gross Domestic Product and stressed the need for the incoming President to appoint a competent person to head the sector.

The National Secretary also congratulated the President-elect, for emerging victorious in this year’s general election, and lauded the incumbent President, John Dramani Mahama for graciously accepting defeat.

Mr. Martey also commended the Electoral Commission, the security agencies, the media and stakeholders, who worked to ensure the success of the elections.

He appealed to the President-elect to revamp the fertiliser subsidy programme, to help build a vibrant agricultural industry.

“GNAFF appeals to the President-elect’s government to support farmers with machinery to move away from the hoe-and-cutlass agriculture, to improve productivity of the agriculture sector,” Mr. Martey said.

Mrs.Sherry Ayittey outgoing Minister of  Fisheries and Aquaculture

Mrs.Sherry Ayittey outgoing Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture

He said that GNAFF was ready to support the incoming government to clamp down on illegal miners, whose activities were fast destroying the country’s arable lands, forestry and river bodies.

Touching on the just ended congress of GNAFF held in Kumasi, Mr. Martey said an interim committee was set up three years ago to revamp the association due to politicisation which nearly collapsed the association.

The current executives are, Nene E.T. Mensah, the president, James Yaw Apau, first vice president, Joseph Mensah Garbrah, second vice president, Martin Oppong Gyabaah, financial secretary, Ayisu Andrews, organiser for the Southern Sector, Naa Yaba Chong Naa, organiser for the Northern Sector.

The rest are Naana Asi Akplehey I, women organiser, Linda Anim, deputy women organiser, Javis Arthur, youth organiser for the Southern Sector, Martin Akudugu, youth organiser for the Northern sector, Borfrenua Bayor, national executive member and Mama Ayipe ama IV, national treasurer.

By Kingsley Asare

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment