GFA boss retains WAFU post

GfbssThe President of the Ghana Football Association has retained his position as the Chairman of the West African Football Union, WAFU, Zone B, at the ongoing CAF General Assembly in Cairo.

Nyantakyi who was voted the WAFU President has been in office for the past four years and has been retained to continue his role until the next four years after he was elected unopposed.

Former Zambian captain, Kalusha Bwalya was also re-elected as the Chairman of the Southern Zone while Leondegar Tenga also retained his position as the Chairman of the Central-East Zone.

Below is the list of chairman for the various zones; CAF regional chairmanship elections 2015 – 2019 Southern zone : Kalusha Bwalya – Re – elected unopposed Central – East zone : Leodegar Tenga – Re – elected Central Zone : Omari Constant Selemani Re – elected Unopposed West Zone B : Kwesi Nyantekyi – Re -elected unopposed West Zone A : Almamy Kabele Camara – Re – elected unopposed North Zone : Tarek Bouchamaoui – Re – elected unopposed

In another development, Nyantakyi has been re- elected as a member of the CAF Executive Committee.

His re-elction took place in Cairo, Egypt

No candidate filed to contest the GFA president after CAF opened nominations for the Zone West B slot on the committee,

He therefore went unopposed in yesterday’s elections at the 37th Annual General Meeting.

Mr. Nyantakyi was instrumental in reviving the WAFU Nations Cup in 2013 with a successful tournament hosted and won by Ghana.

In February 2011, Nyantakyi won the CAF Executive Committee seat in a landslide victory after polling 34 votes, 15 more than what Benin’s Anjorin Moucharafou garnered.

He became the fifth Ghanaian to become a member of CAF’s Executive Committee after Ohene Djan (1961-1966), Kobina Hagan (1961-1962), Nana Fredua Mensah (1968-1972) and Samuel Okyere (1990-1994).

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment