Curfew on c’nities in Volta, N/R renewed

Mr.  WoyongoThe Minister of the Interior has on the advice of the Volta and Northern Regional Security Councils and by Executive Instruments renewed the curfews imposed on Alavanyo and Nkonya, Bimbilla, and Nakpaduri towns, effective February 13.

A statement signed by the sector minister, Mr. Mark Woyongo, said the curfew hours imposed on the Alavanyo and Nkonya, as well as Bimbilla areas are from 6:00pm to 6:00am.

The curfew hours on the Nakpanduri, is from 10: pm to 4:00am and the affected areas include Nakpaduri town, Kpatritinga, Bonbil, Borgni Boatarrigu, and Sakogu communities.

The statement reminds the public that there is total ban on all persons in the affected towns and communities from carrying arms, ammunition or any offensive weapon, and any person found with any arm or ammunition would be arrested and prosecuted.

It was: “Government continues to urge chiefs, opinion leaders, youth and people of the areas to exercise restraint in the face of the challenges confronting them and use non-violent means to channel their energies into ensuring peace to the areas”.

Concerning the Alavanyo and Nkonya areas, the statement said “Government continues to express its appreciation to the chiefs, elders, opinion leaders, youth and people of the area for their efforts in ensuring peace in the area and urges them to use the established mechanisms for the resolution of all their conflicts and disputes.”


Print Friendly

Leave a Comment