Court Halts NDC Election In Tema

A Tema High Court has halted the Tema Central Consti-tuency of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) from holding its election after some members of the party successfully filed an interlocutory injunction at the court.

The plaintiffs are contesting the procedure used in appointing the executive for the 24 branches, who are delegates and are eligible to vote in the election.

Mr. Watson Tizor Apentsui, Tema Metropolitan Electoral Officer, told the Ghana News Agency that due to the injunction, the NDC Tema Central elections, which was originally scheduled for Friday September 11, has been postponed indefinitely.

Mr. Apentsui said a copy of the injunction was sent to the Tema office of the Electoral Commission of Ghana on Friday at about 7 a.m.

He indicated that until the Tema High Court decides otherwise on September 16, his outfit would not be able to conduct the election.

Meanwhile, the Tema East and Tema West constituencies of the NDC have successfully elected their executives.

At the Tema West Constituency, 616 out of the 640 delegates voted.

Mr. Apentsui declared Mr. Ben Ganyo Doe, who polled 287 votes, as the newly elected chairman.

Mr. William Ebo Enu had 260 votes to emerge as the vice chairman, while Mr. Andrews Okine Okai was also declared the secretary after polling 275 of the votes.

Mr. John Doe Amesi and Mr William Adortse polled 218 and 356 votes to emerge as the deputy secretary and organiser, respectively.

Hajia Anisa Yakubu received 482 votes to become the constituency treasurer; the deputy treasurer position went to Mr. Alexander Tettey, who polled 210 votes.

Mr. Emmanuel Noble Kor was declared the propaganda secretary, while Madam Peace Aku Ashong and Madam Sophia Mensah emerged as the women’s and deputy women’s organisers respectively.

Mr. Gabriel Lucky Ocansey got the nod as the youth organiser, while Mr. Suley Musah and Mr. Eric Arthur retained their positions as deputy youth organiser and deputy propaganda secretary respectively.

Mr. Apentsui indicated that another election would be held to determine the deputy organiser because Mr. Henry Ubor and Mr. Seth Kwaaku Matanawui, the contestants, each polled 164 votes.

The Tema East Constituency election saw the election of a new chairman in the person of Alhaji Mahama Bulisa, who polled 192 of the 507 votes, to unseat the incumbent, Mr. Mustapha Darko, who placed third with 88 votes.

Mr. Garnet Dorgbey, Mr. Baba Abu Abdulai and Mr Adam Iddrisu were declared the vice chairman, secretary and deputy secretary, respectively.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment