CAF nominates Andre, Atsu for Player of the Year award

Ayew - Nominated

Ayew – Nominated

GHANA’s duo of Andre Dede Ayew and Christian Atsu are among 37 players nominated by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the prestigious 2015 CAF Player of the Year award.

In a press statement released on the Sunday, the African football ruling body reeled out the nominations for the Africa Footballer of the Year award and the Africa Footballer of the Year award for players based in Africa.

Super Eagles captain Ahmed Musa and OSC Lille goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama are the only Nigerian on the list that has four members of the victorious Cote d’Ivoire team at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, who is the current holder of the title was also nominated as well as the likes of DR Congo goalkeeper Robert Kidiaba and Yacine Brahimi of Algeria.

Sadio Mane of Senegal, Mehdi Benaria (Morocco), Al Tayeb   Modather ‘Karika’,(Sudan) Mohammed Salah (Egypt), Nicolas N’Kolou (Cameroun) and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon) are some of the players who made the cut.

Nigeria’s failure to make any meaningful impact on the continent’s club football scene meant no Nigerian made the list for the Africa based Player of the Year nomination.

By Times Sports Reporter

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment