Brimah, Okoampah gun for top laurels

The organizers of the 2016 Ghana Basketball Awards, have released nominees for this year’s edition of the awards.

The awards slated for Friday, August 12, 2016, at the Best Western Premier Hotel, Accra, would see nominees vying for both individual and team honours.

Customs Excise and Preventive Service (CEPS) star Hashim Brimah and University of Ghana talented power forward Maxwell Okoampa are expected to vie for the top individual awards for the night.

The awards, which will seek to honour individuals, teams, coaches and referees for their outstanding performances in the year under review, is proudly supported by Sprite and powered by Rite Sports.

The Most Valuable Player (MVP), of the Year (Male), fields a rich cast of Maxwell Okuampa, Hashim Brimah, 2015 winner Abdul Mutaleeb Alhassan and Suleman Abubakar.

Matilda Gordon, a former Aggrey Memorial Senior High School captain and a former High School Female Player of the Year, would battle it out with Selina Boateng (Galaxy), Belinda Tawiah (CEPS) and Carlyn Adjei (Fire Service), after being nominated in two categories – Tertiary Female Player of the Year and the most valuable player (MVP), Female.

In the Male High School Player of the Year category, Dennis Dugbennu of St. Augustine’s College would have to fend off competition from Kofi Aboagye of Opoku Ware School and Kofi Aboagye Acheampong of Mfantsipim School.

Minister for Youth and Sports Mr. Edwin Nii Lantey Vanderpuye as well as officials of the National Sports Authority (NSA), Ghana Basketball Association (GBA) businessmen and women would be in attendance on the night to witness the event.

Below is the full list of nominees for the various categories:

High School Male Player of the Year: Denis Dugbenu (St. Augustines College); Kofi Aboagye (Mfantsipim) and Emmanuel Agyapong (Opoku Ware School).

High School Female Player of the Year award: Joana Danso (Aggrey Memorial), Juliana Cudjoe (Aggrey Memorial) and Mamata Yusif (Accra Wesley Girls).

High School Coach of the Year: Lawrence Ampiah (St. Augustines College), Prince Adarkwah (Aggrey Memorial) and Isaac Kobina Owusu-Mensah (Mfantsipim).

Tertiary Player of the Year: Suleman Abubakari (Accra Polytechnic), Maxwell Okoampa (University of Ghana) and David Asingar (Marshalls University College).

Tertiary Female Player of the Year category: Matilda Gordon (Accra Polytechnic), Osseni Mahmoudath (Valley View University) and Yayra Kluiboto (University of Cape Coast).

Clean Team Award: KNUST, Marshalls University College and Radford University College.

Best Referee: Gasu Quaryme, Eric Ankamah and Samuel Badu.

Coach of the Year: Meme Falconer (University of Ghana), Brimah Lawal (Accra Polytechnic) and James Okine (Marshalls University College).

Developmental Award: Galaxy Basketball, Accra; Dunks, Accra; and Chiefs Basketball Academy, Kumasi.

Overall Female Player of the Year: Matilda Gordon (Accra Polytechnic), Carlyn Adjei (Accra Polytechnic), Belinda Tawiah (CEPS) and Selina Quaye (Galaxy).

Overall Male Player of the Year award: Suleman Abubakari (Accra Polytechnic/CEPS), Hashim Brimah (CEPS), Abdul Mutaleb Alhassan (A-Poly/CEPS) and Maxwell Okoampa (University of Ghana) -GNA


Print Friendly

Leave a Comment