Bodyguards of disqualified presidential aspirants withdrawn



The bodyguards of presidential aspirants disqualified by the Electoral Commission (EC), have been withdrawn with immediate effect, the Police Administration has said.

The Director-General in charge of Operations, Ghana Police Service, Commissioner of Police (COP) Christian Tetteh Yohuno, disclosed this to The Ghanaian Times in a telephone interview yesterday.

He said police guards for their running mates have also been withdrawn.

COP Yohuno said the guards were assigned to provide security for the aspirants but had to be withdrawn because it was no longer relevant.

Thirteen presidential aspirants were disqualified due to various irregularities detected on their nomination forms by the EC.

Only four of the applicants have received the nod from the EC to contest the presidential election on December 7.

Those disqualified are former First Lady Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP), Dr. Paa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), and Dr. Edward Nasigri Mahama, People’s National Convention (PNC).

Others are Mr. Mahama Ayariga of All People’s Congress (APC),  Mr. Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democratic (RPD), Mr. Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People’s Party (IPP), Dr. Henry Lartey of the Great Consolidated People’s Party (GCPP) and Mr. Akwasi Addai Odike of the United People’s Party (UPP).

The rest are Madam Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), Mr. Thomas Ward Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP), Mr. Richard Tetteh of the United Development Systems Party (UDSP), Dr Nana Agyenim Boateng, United Freedom Party (UFP) and Mr. Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate.

Those approved are President John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress(NDC), Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), and Jacob Osei Yeboah (aka JOY), an independent candidate.

This was announced at a press conference in Accra on Monday by the chairperson of the EC, Mrs. Charlotte Osei, after the various political parties submitted their filing fees to the commission.

According to the EC chairperson, there were irregularities on the forms submitted, including duplicate signatures, aside the forgery of signatures and false declarations made on some forms.

By Anita Nyarko-Yirenkyi


Print Friendly

Leave a Comment