Black Queens Boycott Training

Qns2The national seniors women’s team Black Queensis threatening to boycott training in preparation for the Africa Women’s Championship because of unpaid bonuses.

Taking a cue from the Black Stars, who refused to train because of their unpaid appearance fees at the World Cup before the clash with Portugal, the Black Queens insist they will not train yesterday morning at their camping base of Prampram.

The Sports Ministry has not paid the Black Queens their winning bonuses for the matches they have won in qualifying for the tournament to be held in Namibia.

Fed up over several unfulfilled promises by government to pay their monies, the ladies have decided that the Black Stars way by boycotting to force the sports ministry to pay the money.

Several other national teams particularly the junior teams are owed outstanding bonuses.

The Black Stars boycotted training at the World Cup in Brazil before the country’s President John Dramani Mahama intervened for them to be paid their money.

Meanwhile, U-20 coach Sellas Tetteh has named an 18-man squad for their African Youth Championship qualifier return leg against Gabon this weekend.

The Black Satellites go into the return encounter still licking their wounds after drawing blank in the first leg game before their home fans in Accra which ended 0-0.

Ghana must thus avoid defeat at all cost or secure a scoring draw in this weekend’s clash to qualify for next year’s finals to be staged in Senegal.

The team will depart Accra for Libreville today ahead of the weekend’s clash.

The selected selected players are Mutawakilu Seidu – Kotoko,Sai Micheal – Berekum Chelsea,Owusu Bempah – Hearts of Oak,Christopher Bonney – Kotoko,

Asmah Patrick – B. A. Utd.,Latif Abubarkar – Liberty,Joseph Adjei – Wa All Stars and Stephen Anokye Badu – B. A. Utd.

The others are Kofi Yeboah – Wa All Stars,Yaw Yeboah – Right To Dream,Thomas Agyepong – Right To Dream,Attobrah Asiedu – Edubiase,KHasacass and Samuel Tetteh – Feyenoordumi Eric – Hearts of Oak,Prosper Kassim – Inter Allies,Noah Martey – Bechem and Sulley Mohammed – King Faisal.

The rest are Samuel Afful –Hasaacas and Samuel Tetteh-Feyenoord.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment