Big shots tumble at polls

shockThis year’s general elections saw major upsets as many big wigs suffered shocking defeats.

They include Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Ms. Hannah Tetteh, who lost the Awutu Senya West seat to Mr. Andah, who contested for the NPP; Mark Woyongo, Minister of State at the Presidency and MP for Navrongo Central; Mahama Ayariga, Minister of Environment, Science and Technology and MP for Bawku Central; and Cletus Avoka, former Majority Leader in the NDC government.

Others are Baba Jamal, Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development (Akwatia); Mrs. Sena Okity Duah, Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture (Ledzokuku), Mr. Mohammed Ibrahim Murtala, Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry (Nanton), Paul Evans Aidoo, Western Regional Minister (Sefwi-Wiawso), Amidu Sulemani, Upper West Regional Minister (Sissala West), Alhaji Amadu Sorogho, MP for Madina- Abokobi; Akwasi Oppong-Fosu, a former Minister of Environment and Science (Wassa Amenfi East). In all, the NDC has lost about 50 seats to the NPP.

Alhaji Sorogho lost to the NPP’s Boniface Saddiqe, who polled 57.97 per cent of the total votes cast in that constituency as Sorogho polled 39.88 per cent.

Baba Jamal lost to Ama Sey, a beautician, who polled 21,433 votes as against his 15,905 votes.

The parliamentary candidate for the Ekumfi Constituency on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Central Region, Ato Cudjoe beat the incumbent, Abeiku Crentsil of the NDC.

The NPP parliamentary candidate for the New Edubiase Constituency in the Ashanti Region, George Oduro, dethroned the incumbent of the NDC, Mr. Ernest Kofi Yakah.

Sena Okity Duah also lost to Dr. Okoe Boye, who polled 45,259 votes as against the 43,092 votes she secured in the Ledzokuku Constituency.

Paul Evans Aidoo, former Western Regional Minister lost the Sefwi-Wiawso Constituency seat to Dr. Kweku Owusu Afriyie, who was part of the erstwhile Kufuor administration of the NPP.

 Jonathan Donkor reports that the Central Regional Minister, George Kweku Ricketts-Hagan retained the Cape Coast South Constituency seat for the National Democratic Congress (NPP), beating his closest contender Michael Arthur Dadzie of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), in a fierce contest.

NPP’s Mrs. Barbara Asher Ayisi beat NDC’s Kwabena Owusu Acheampong.

Those who retained their seats include Alban Bagbin, Majority Leader in Parliament, Afenyo Markins, MP for Effutu Constituency, Joe Ghartey, MP for Essikado-Ketan and Haruna Iddrisu, MP for Tamale South Constituency.

The new entrants are Zenator Agyemang-Rawlings, Klottey Korley, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Ofoase Ayirebi, Mr. George Andah, Awutu Seyna West, Anthony Karbo, Lawra Constituency Okoe Vanderpuije, the Accra Mayor, Ablekuma South and Ambrose Dery, former deputy Minority Leader, who has made a u-turn.

In the Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abrem (KEEA), NDC’s candidate, Samuel Atta Mills, brother to the late President John Evans Atta Mills, beat incumbent and former Central Regional Minister, Dr.  Nana Ato Arthur of the NPP.


Brother-in-law of Dr. Ndoum, John Sterlin, of PPP, was the second force in that constituency with 18,860  with CPP’s Mrs. Rose Austin Tenadu getting  410 out of a total of  57, 187 valid votes  cast.


Cliff Ekuful reports from Wa that a former Minority Leader in Parliament Mr. Ambrose Dery is returning to the house as a Member of Parliament for the Nandom Constituency in the Upper West Region.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment