Assembly members urged to be agents of change

 Mr. Adongo

Mr. Adongo

Mr Frank Fuseini Adongo, Deputy Upper East Regional Minister, on Wednesday charged assembly members of the Bawku West District Assembly to be agents of change as they stand to protect the interest of the people.

He urged the members to conform to norms such as hard work, humility, and respect for one another with the understanding that, it would be securing the development of the people.

Mr Adongo who is also a Member of Parliament (MP) for the Zebilla Constituency in the district, made the call when the assembly failed the second time to elect its Presiding Member.

He said the people have their hopes in the assembly members and that was why they gave them the mandate to represent them, articulate their views and opinions that would guarantee them quality livelihoods and the development of the area.

Mr Adongo called on the members to cooperate with him as the MP for the area, in order to aid them to deliver their best and that failure to fulfil their promises would be suicidal and disappointing to the people.

Mr David Nar-Ire, Coordinating Director of the assembly, called on members to eschew party politics in conducting the business of the house,since being partisan, would jeopardise their constitutional mandate.

Mr Nar-Ire charged the members to see the purpose of the event as very crucial to the development of the area and to elect a competent leader who would steer the affairs of the house to its logical conclusion.

He reminded them that the absence of a Presiding Member would delay some administrative procedures, which would invariably affect the execution of some key development projects in the area and asked them to ensure the house got a leader in the shortest possible time.

Mr Nar-Ire urged the assembly to support government’s effort to stop “galamsey” in the area as a wake-up call to ensure that the practice was eradicated from the communities since it was posing threats to the environment.

The house for the second time failed to elect a Presiding Member due to the inability of the two candidates to secure the two-thirds votes required from the house.

Mr Moses Appiah Agana of the Binaba Central electoral area got 30 votes at the first round of voting while Mr Jacob Kobina Atinga of the Yelwoko electoral area polled 17 votes.

In the second round of voting Mr. Agana had 26 votes representing 51 per cent while Mr Atinga got 20 votes representing 39.2 per cent making the two unable to secure the required two-thirds votes for the Presiding Member position.

The house has 49 members. Out of the number, 48 were present. The election was however adjourned to a later date. -GNA



Print Friendly

Leave a Comment