Ankoma wins Kofi Awoonor Prize for Non-Fiction

Ace Ankomah

Ace Ankomah

A private legal practitioner, Ace Annan Ankomah was adjudged winner of the Kofi Awoonor Prize for Non-Fiction at the Ghana Association of Writers (GAW) 2018 Literary Awards held on Saturday in Accra.

He was awarded for his book, ‘Is there not a cause to rant?’ beating Kofi Otutu Adu Labi and Genevieve Delali Antonio, to make away with a cash prize of GH¢1000 and a certificate.

Mr Adu Larbi, took away GH¢700 and a certificate for placing second while Ms. Antonio had GH¢500 and certificate for coming third.

For Atukwei Okai prize for poetry, Mawuli Adzei took the first prize of GH¢1,000 and certificate for his poem ‘Testament of the Seasons’ while Nana Dadzie Ghansah and Genevieve Delali Antonio were both second and third respectfully.

Pobee Mwintombo, Seth Sefogah and Nana Fredua Agyeman were winners of the Kofi Anyidoho’s spoken word prize while AyiKwei Armah’s prize for novel went to Ama Pomaa, N. Maria Kwami and Empi Baryeh.

For the poetry (Ghanaian languages category) Sam J. Obianim, J.M.T. Dosoo and M.K Agbodza were awarded for their works while Franca Maria Andoh won the first and only prize for Ama Ata Aidoo’s prize for short story.

Kwao Ansah’s prize for script writing was received by M.Abdul Majeed, Prince Adu Mensah and Delali Duvi while Ohene Dankwa received the Kwesi Brew prize for children’s story.

The Executive Director, National Theatre of Ghana Ms. Amy Appiah Frimpong said writers have tried to remain relevant in the era of technological advancement.

She said literary writers use their works to provoke, commit, educate and empathise while setting the agenda for readers.

According to her, writers help readers learn new words and how to use those words in sentences thereby improving on the vocabulary of readers, whether young or old.

Ms.Frimpong urged writers not to stop writing saying, “without you our journey will be a boring one”.

The President of GAW, Nana Kwesi Gyan-Apenteng said the award was the second in succession after it was revived last year.

He said the award began in the 1970s and ran every year throughout the 1980s describing it as “one of the most welcomed and colourful events in the country”.

Nana Gyan-Apenteng explained that the awards suffered a setback in the late 1980s until it was revived lately and hoped that there would not be any interruption of the awards again.

The event would be used to honour outstanding writers in the country hence the theme, ‘honoring literary excellence’.

He said the association would continue to honour its past leaders and deserving citizens for their services to GAW and their contribution to the development of literature in the country.



Print Friendly

Leave a Comment