Akufo-Addo In Landslide Victory

DSC_0163Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, a presidential hopeful of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) yesterday asserted his dominion over other aspirants, when he won the Special Electoral Congress by a landslide.

The twice presidential candidate polled 598 out of the 740 valid votes cast. There were no rejected ballots.

The results would be a rude shock to Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, Nana Akufo-Addo’s main challenger, who came a distance second with only 59 votes.

Other contestants namely, Francis Addai-Nimo had 22, Joe Ghartey, 22, Kofi Osei Ameyaw, 16, Stephen Asamoah Boateng, 13 and Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku had 10.

The Special Delegates Congress was called to reduce the number of candidates from seven to five.

Per the party’s constitution the best five would now face-it-off at a National Delegates’ Conference slated for October 7, where about 141,000 delegatges would elect the winner, who becomes the presidential candidate.

Thus, Nana Akufo-Addo, Mr. Kyerematen, Mr. Addai-Nimo, Joe Ghartey and Kofi Osei Ameyaw have qualified.

Stephen Asamoah Boateng and Kofi Konadu Apraku have dropped out.

The polls were generally incident free, apart from the Osu centre in Accra, where the Member of Parliament (MP) for Tema East, Daniel Kwatei Titus-Glover was prevented from casting a proxy ballot.

Mr. Titus-Glover went to the centre to vote on behalf of his colleague MP, Sarah Adwoa Safo, but was told to seek further clearance from the party’s head office.

Former President John Agyekum Kufuor did not participate in the polls.

According to his spokesman, Frank Agyekum, the former President has decided not to vote in intra party elections again.

Our Reporter, Malik Sullemana said voting at the NPP party head office was peaceful as the casting of ballots started at 8:00am and ended at 3p.m.

Speaking to The Ghanaian Times, a former national chairman of the party, Peter Mac Manu, said the outcome of the polls was a testimony that other aspirants should throw in the towel.

He said the winner; Nana Akufo-Addo had an overwhelming victory that necessitated the other contestants to reconsider their positions as to whether to participate in the National Delegates Congress in October.

Fred Oware, a former vice-chairman, called for unity of purpose, tenacity and resilience, saying these were the pillars upon which the NPP would win the 2016 general elections.

The Upper West Regional branch of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) gave an emphatic endorsement to the Nana Akufo-Addo, reports Cliff Ekuful.

Nana Akufo-Addo polled 32 votes, representing 100 per cent of the total votes cast. The six other aspirants had no votes.

The Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (E.C), Mr. Serebour Quaicoe, who declared the results, expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the delegates.

On his part, the Upper West Regional Chairman of the NPP, Alhaji Short, said the exercise showed that democracy had spoken and urged all members of the party to come together and work for the common good of the party.

He said he was very happy everything went well stressing that, “this is a democratic exercise in which there were no losers or winners”.

From Cape Coast, David Yarboi-Tetteh, reports that voting went on smoothly without any hitch with delegates and some party members in a healthy interaction before the declaration of the results.

All the 54 delegates voted before 12.30 pm and had to wait anxiously till 3pm before the Central Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (EC), Mrs Philomena Edusei brought the polls to a close.

Nana Akufo-Addo polled 51 votes representing 94.4 per cent; Joe Ghartey had two votes, representing 3.7 per cent, while Alan Kyeremanteng had one vote representing 1.85 per cent.

The other contestants in the race, Stephen Asamóah Boateng, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, Osei Ameyaw and Francis Addai Nimo had no vote.

During the voting, Stephen Asamoah Boateng appeared at the polling station amidst cheers from the delegates.

Ibrahim A. Mohammed reports from Bolgatanga that 38 out of 39 delegates voted during the election.

The absentee voter passed on before the congress day.

Voting which started at 8 a.m., was supervised by officials of the EC, under the leadership of Mr. James Arthur, its regional director.

Mr. John Boadu, the National Organiser of the NPP, supervised the election.

Some of the big-wigs of the party in the region who voted were Mr. Boniface Gambilla, Member of Parliament (MP) for Nabdam and a former Regional Minister, Mr. Robert Deameng Masoore, MP for Tebensi and Mr. Kofi Addah, former MP for Navrongo Central and former Minister of Energy who voted as a member of Council of Elders.

The police detailed to ensure peace and security at the congress was on a holiday because of the peaceful and smooth nature of the polls.

From Koforidua, Ama Tekyiwaa Ampadu-Nyarko reports that the election which was held at the Oyinka Hotel  with heavy police presence were smooth and peaceful.

A total of 88 delegates comprising 26 Members of Parliament, 33 constituency chairmen, 16 regional executives, one national representative in the person of Mr. Sammy Awuku,  members of the Council of Elders and founding fathers of the party voted.

Mr. Awuku prayed that after the election the party would be more united and resolute for victory in 2016.

Kafui Gati reports from Ho that  a disagreement ensued between the Regional Chairman, Peter Amewu and Ken Anku, the 2012 parliamentary candidate  NPP for the North Dayi constituency.

Mr. Emmanuel Attafoah-Danso, former national youth organiser prevailed on the two to calm down and within a short time the issue was resolved.

According to the Deputy EC Director, Anthony Oppong, 55 delegates were to cast their votes.

By the close of counting of votes at exactly 3.00 p.m., Nana Akufo-Addo polled 28 votes, representing 54.9 percent, Alan Kyeremanten14; Kofi Osei Ameyaw, 4, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, 2, Stephen Asamoah Boateng, Francis Addae Nimoh and Joe Ghartey had one vote each.

The general view of most of the delegates was Nana Akufo-Addo, having won in the Volta Region where people claimed was an Kyerematen’s stronghold, was now becoming popular in the region.

From Sunyani, Daniel Dzirasah reports that the Brong-Ahafo Regional elelction held at Pastoral Centre in Sunyani ended peacefully.

The Electoral College was 74 but three delegates, described as founding members of the party, were reported to have passed on.

Security was heavy, as both uniform and plain clothes police officers were spotted at vantage points near the polling station.

Some NPP faithful were seen dancing to popular hiplife songs which added  colour to the occasion while traders also took advantage of the opportunity to sell party paraphernalia.

Meanwhile, Nana Akufo-Addo has thanked his supporters and his campaign team for his victory.

He also commended the party hierarchy for organising a successful congress.

Speaking at a press conference several hours after the results were declared, Nana Akufo-Addo called for unity and peace in the party, saying it was only NPP which can redeem Ghanaians from the current economic challenges.

By  Ian Motey

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment