Ajumako NDC Elects New Constituency Executives

The Ajumako constituency of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) District has elected their executives for a four- year term.

The election was marred by several hold-ups due to misunderstandings and petty squabbles.Later Mr. Kwabena Kwansah, the incumbent Chairman, was re-elected.

He polled 312 votes to beat his challengers George Harrison 140 votes and Isaac Kwame Essel 37 votes. Mr. Bright Abeku Mensah the former vice also won his position with 296 votes as against Mr. Edward G. Wilson 190 votes. The post of Secretary went to Mr. Andrews Duodo, with 261 votes as against Arhin Koomson’s 227 votes.

Mr. Edmund Braku became the Deputy Secretary with 334 votes, beating Emmanuel Ackom who had150 votes.

Mr. Solomon Cobbinah, former presiding member of the Assembly is now the organizer with 304 votes. Mr. Ebenezer Mokowa is his deputy.

The post of treasurer went to Mr. Samuel Adom with Mr. Gabriel Forson as deputy. The rest are as follows: Youth organizer Evans Koranteng, Women Organizer Madam Ceclia Essuman with Elizabeth Essel as the Deputy.

The election was conducted by the District Electoral Officer Mr. Prosper Fiifi Caiquo and the EC staff.

Mr Ato Forson, MP for the area and Deputy Minister of Finance, and the District Chief Eexecutive for the Area, Mr. Peter Light Koomson, were present.

Mr Forson appealed to party supporters remain united and stay in peace, adding that “we are on course we need total support and peace to move the District and the nation forward.”

Mr. Abeiku Aggrey, the Deputy Regional Organiser who spoke to GNA, expressed displeasure about the hold-ups that characterised the elections, adding that this was a sign of disunity and this must not be allowed to go on. “There is the need for a unity of purpose”.

Also present were some constituency executive members of the New Patriotic Party.




Print Friendly

Leave a Comment