African Genius Lectures launched

Mrs Kate Quartey Papafio, Managing  Director of Reroy Cables

Mrs Kate Quartey Papafio, Managing
Director of Reroy Cables

ON December 12, 2014, the African Genius Awards scheme unveiled the first set of ‘Makers of Civilization from continental Africa.

To afford these geniuses the platform to share thoughts with the rest of the world, the board of governors of the scheme, has instituted a quarterly programme dubbed, the African genius lecture series.

The board is chaired by Mr Kojo Yankah, with Nana Kobina Nketsia V, Omanhen of Essikado, as Grand Patron.

The maiden edition of the lectures, to be held at the British Council, Accra, on Monday, September 28, from 5pm through 8pm will be delivered by Mrs. Quartey-Papafio, Chief Executive officer of the Reroy Group, who won the Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah African Genius Award for Entrepreneurship.

She will speak on the topic: ‘Has The African industrialist failed to live up to the name?’

Mrs Quartey-Papafio, who the reigning CIMG Marketing Woman of the Year, is celebrated for being the entrepreneur who turned Ghana from a net importer to a net exporter of electrical cables and conductors.

In the Association of Ghana Industries (AGI), she is the chairperson for the Electrics and Electronics Committee.

The lecture is expected to attract the executive and members of AGI, captains of industry, masters of commer and business /entrepreneurship students from the country’s tertiary institutions.

Recipients of the Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah African Genius Award are men and women who have contributed and are contributing to the making of civilisation as scientists, entrepreneurs, technological innovators, musicians and master craftsmen.

Among personalities honoured at the first Awards on December 12, last year, were Dr Aveh Kludze, the first African to command a spacecraft in orbit (from NASA’s control towers in America); Apostle Kwadwo Safo, of Kristo Asafo Mission, for his engineering feat, Prof J.H. Kwabena Nketsia, Africa’s foremost ethno-musicologist and Prof Ama Ata Aidoo, the famed playwright.

Others were Professor Felix Konotey-Ahulu and Professor Kwabena Frimpong Boateng, for Medicine; Rev Dr. Chris Tsui Hesse, for Film; Dr. Nii Narku Quaynor, for Information Communication Technology; Prof Martin Owusu, for Drama; De Roy Ebo Taylor, for Music; Tahiru Umar, the Tamale-based smock weaver, for Design; Professor Gilbert Ansre, for   Language.

Six personalities were honoured posthumously. They were Dr. Ephraim Amu for Music; Saka Acquaye, for Sculpture, Drama and Music; Kofi Ansah for Design; Efua Sutherland for Drama; Esther Ocloo for Entrepreneurship; and Professor Mawere Opoku, for Dance.

The works of four young persons were also recognised in the Young Icons category. They were Jonathan Kwegyir Aggrey, a water-colourists; Audrey Obuobisa Darko, the 13-year-old author of two books; and Winifred Selby, the young lady associated with the Bamboo Bicycle.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment