Accra Mayor, AMA shortlisted for African Mayor’s Awards

The Accra city and its mayor, Mr. Alfred Okoh Vanderpuije, have been shortlisted for the African Mayor Awards – “Large Cities” category – alongside his counterparts of Dakar and Cape Town, the capital towns of Senegal and South Africa.

The “Jose Eduardo dos Santos African Mayors’ Awards,” named after the President of Angola, Mr. Eduardo dos Santos, has been instituted to raise the profile of Africa’s mayors by honouring those who have made outstanding contribution to their communities and as well developed a vision for urban living, working and travelling across the continent (Africa).

The winner of the “Large Cities” category –that is city with a population of one million or more residents, will receive US$200,000 whilst winners of the Medium – size cities (less than one million but more than 200,000 residents) and Small Cities (population of 200,000 residents) categories, will also receive US$100,000 and US$50,000 respectively as prizes.

The ceremony which co-incides with the Second Africa Urban Infrastructure Investment Forum would be hosted by the Angolan President at the Talatona Convention Centre, Luanda, on April 30.

Five persons of varied professions who constitute the panel of judges are, Jean Pierre Elong Mbassi (chairman) General-Secretary of United Cities and Local Governments – Africa (UCLGA), Tokunbo Omisore, chairman of the African Union of Architects, Aisa Kirabo Kacyira, Assistant Secretary-General and Deputy Executive Director for UN – Habitat, Victor Leonel Miguel,chairman of the Angolan Architects Union and Gaetan Siew, chairman of Construction Industry Sector of Mauritius.

By Times Reporter

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment