3 NDC Nat’l Women’s Organiser aspirants boycott party debate

Hajia Zainab Mahama

Hajia Zainab Mahama

The maiden edition of the pre-election debate for aspiring National Executive Officers of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) was nearly marred after three aspiring National Women’s Organisers boycotted the event.


The organisers of the event had no choice but allow the incumbent women’s organiser Hajia Zainab Mahama to mount the stage and share her vision with delegates present.


Hajia Zakari, Dr Hannah Bisiw and Margaret Chiravira failed to show at the event and unclear why the three decided not to participate in the debate although organisers claim they were invited but Hajia Mahama addressed the delegates who attended the event.

A fellow of the Center for Social Democracy, Antonio Asinyo was disappointed that the three aspirants failed to participate in the debate.


The atmosphere was lit when moderators of the event announced the turn of aspiring national youth organisers.


The three candidates Brogya Gyamfi, Wonda Madilo and George Opare Addo are unanimous on the need to fight for recognition of the youth front in the party.


The national delegates’ congress to elect executive officers was originally fixed for October 20, but was postponed to November 3, 2018, following what the hierarchy of the party said was due to challenges the organisers had with their venue of interest.


A total of 67 members of the party have picked up nomination forms to contest for the various national positions ahead of the 2020 general election.


Among the list are a former Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Betty Mould- Iddrisu, former Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, and a Vice Chairman of the NDC, Alhaji Huudu Yahaya, who are contesting the position of national chairman.


The incumbent General Secretary of the party, Asiedu Nketia, and his deputy, Koku Anyidoho, both picked forms to contest the general secretary position.
Other positions where people have picked forms to contest are national vice-chairpersons, national deputy general secretaries, national organiser, and two deputy national organisers.


The rest are national communications officer, two deputy national communications officers, national Zongo Caucus Coordinator, national youth organiser, national women’s organiser, two deputy women organisers and five other executive positions without portfolios. –myjoyonline.com

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment