3 inducted into Tourism Hall of Fame

Former Presidents Jerry John Rawlings and John Agyekum Kufour have been inducted into the Tourism Hall of Fame at the maiden event held on Friday night in Accra.

The two former Ghanaian leaders could not show up at the ceremony, but sent delegations who received the gold plaque and certificates for their contributions to the development of tourism during their tenure in office.

Also inducted into the Tourism Hall of Fame was Nana David Anim, president of the Ghana Tourism Federation (GHATOF).

Eighteen other personalities, hotels, tour guide operators and travel writers were also recognised for positively impacting and projecting Ghana as a preferred tourism destination in Africa.

The Tourism Hall of Fame awards were launched a few months ago by GHATOF, in collaboration with the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts.

Mrs. Elizabeth Ofosu-Adjare, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts, in a speech read on her behalf by the Chief Director of the ministry, Nana Bright Oduro Kwarteng, said government was committed to developing the sector.

She described the Tourism Hall of Fame project as a novelty, saying that “this tourism private and public sectors’ healthy collaboration exemplifies public-private partnership.”

Mrs. Ofosu-Adjare said the realignment of tourism to incorporate culture and creative arts was a “step in a right direction as Ghana’s tourism is predicated on its culture and creative arts.”


By Malik Sullemana




Print Friendly

Leave a Comment