3 development authorities to be established

Mr. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu

Mr. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu

Three development authorities, barring any last minute objections, will be established by close of this week as Parliament prepares to round up work on the draft bills of the authorities.

The three – Northern, Middle and Coastal Belt Development Authority   bills, after going through the final stages of consideration are set to be passed into law pending a final and third reading.

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the Majority Leader, presenting Parliament’s programme line-up for this week last Friday said the third reading of the three development authority bills are expected on Friday, November 20, 2017.

The bills, introduced to the House during the dying moments of the last meeting in June, have been high on the agenda of the lawmakers with the last week spent on the consideration of the bills.

Objectives of the development authorities are to provide a framework for accelerated socio-economic development of the country especially rural areas.

Meanwhile, Mr. Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu said the Office of the Special Prosecutor Bill will be read for the second time adding that nine ministers have been programmed to attend upon the House to respond to 25 questions from members.

They are Ministers for Food and Agriculture, Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Aviation, Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration and Interior.

The rest are Ministers of Energy, Finance, Parliamentary Affairs and Roads and Highways.

The Majority Leader said bills, papers and reports may be presented to the House for First Reading and those of urgent nature may be taken through the various stages in a day in accordance with the processes of the House.

Motions, he said, may be debated and their consequential resolutions reached if any was taken during the week.






Print Friendly

Leave a Comment