20 Judges, Magistrates dismissed

•    Mrs. Theodora Georgina Wood — Chief Justice

• Mrs. Theodora Georgina Wood — Chief Justice

The Judicial Council has dismissed 20 of the 21 judges and magistrates cited in the petition brought against them by Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

They are eight Circuit Court judges and 13 district magistrates who were investigated following the bribery allegation levelled against them in the infamous judicial corruption scandal.

The other one was given a written reprimand.

These were announced at a press-briefing yesterday, by the Chief Justice, Mrs Justice Georgina Theodora Wood.

Some have been removed from office with benefits, and others without benefits.

According to the Judicial Council, those who were remorseful when they appeared before the Chief Justice’s Committee and apologised to the people of Ghana and the judiciary for dragging the name of the institution into disrepute, were dismissed with benefits.

The Circuit Court Judges removed for stated misbehaviour under Article 151 (1) of the 1992  constitution without benefits are, Benjamin Y. Osei of Juabeng, Florence Ninepence of Tema, Isaac B. Akwantey of Wa, Alex Obeng Asante of Tarkwa, Emmanuel K. Sunu of Bolgatanga, Baptist Kodwo Filson of Bibiani, Emmanuel Opare of Techiman.

One of the Circuit Court Judges, Seyram Tsatsu Azumah of Akropong, who showed remorse and apologised profusely, would be entitled to her benefits even though dismissed.

The magistrates dismissed without benefits, are Samuel Ahiabor of Adidome, William Baffoe of Cape Coast, Michael Boamah Gyamfi of Mampongteng, Jacob Amponsah of Ejisu, Frank Kingsley Oppong of Kasoa, Alfred K.A. Mensah of Somanya.

The others, Albert Zoogah of Ashiaman, Courage Ofori Afriyie of Offinso, and Paul K. Alhassan of Agona Ashanti, were dismissed with benefits.

The Council resolved that Samuel Essel Walker of Bolgatanga District Court, should be given a written reprimand after the committee failed to find that his conduct warranted a removal from office.

The Chief Justice, stated that the council was determined to take prompt, resolute and necessary measures to ensure that the integrity of the Judicial Service was redeemed.

She expressed her appreciation to the committee for the expeditious work to furnish the council with an in-depth report.

Mrs. Wood said further announcements on the work of the other investigative Committee would be made available soon.

The Committee was chaired by Mrs. Justice Sophia Adinyira, Justice of the Supreme Court. Other members were, Frank Beechem, a former president of the Ghana Bar Association (GBA), Mr. Nene Amegatcher, immediate past president of the GBA, Ambassador James Victor Gbeho, Brigadier-General Edward Fiawoo and Justice Elizabeth Ankumah, a Justice of the High Court.

On August 31, the Chief Justice received a petition from Anas and his company, Tiger Eye PI, demanding the removal from office, of 22 members of the lower courts on the grounds of stated misbehaviour, pursuant to Article 151 of the 1992 Constitution.

By Edem Mensah-Tsotorme   

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment